Configure SSH for automatic tunneling

Single Hop

Automatic tunneling will allow you to tunnel any connection to machines inside CERN on the fly, without any input from your side. Say that you want to be able to access your CERN desktop PC named “CernDesktop” from your home's one. Suppose also that your CERN username (account on LXPLUS) is “CernUsername”. In order to setup the automatic tunnelling, only add these lines to your .ssh/config file on your home desktop (running Linux):

Host lxplus.cern.ch
  user CernUsername

This instructs SSH to always log as “cernusername” when trying to reach LXPLUS with no username specified, and in particular when tunneling. Next, add the following to the same file:

Host CernDesktop.cern.ch
  ProxyCommand ssh lxplus.cern.ch /usr/bin/nc %h %p 2> /dev/null
  GSSAPITrustDNS no

The first line tells SSH that “cerndesktop.cern.ch” should be reached by executing the given command. Now ssh cerndesktop.cern.ch will work like a charm.

This logs on LXPLUS and forwards the connection to “cerndesktop”. The second line deals with issues with DNS and clusters. You only need it when going through a cluster like LXPLUS. Note that the string after Host can give several names separated by spaces and can have wildcards. For example lxvo*.cern.ch lxbuild*.cern.ch. However, do not use *.cern.ch or you will loop forever!

Multiple Hops

The recipe is recursive and thus extremely powerful when you need to go through several machines. Take the following path: “Home → LXPLUS → ProxyToHiddenNet → CriticalMachine”. The following .ssh/config on your home PC will allow to log straight to “CriticalMachine”:

Host criticalmachine
  ProxyCommand ssh ProxyToHiddenNet /usr/bin/nc %h %p 2> /dev/null
Host ProxyToHiddenNet
  user LocalUsernameOnProxy
  ProxyCommand ssh lxplus.cern.ch /usr/bin/nc %h %p 2> /dev/null
  GSSAPITrustDNS no
Host lxplus.cern.ch
  user CernUsername

Optimizing number of connections and usage of passwords

You may have noticed after setting automatic tunneling that one tunnel is open per connection to any machine and that your password may be asked at each step (so three passwords to type for the last example). This can be optimized by using the ControlPath and ControlMaster options in the .ssh/config file. For this, add the following section :

Host *.cern.ch
  ControlPath ~/.ssh/%h.%p.%r
  ControlMaster auto

You will have all your tunnels to any machine inside “*.cern.ch” shared. You reduce the number of connections and get rid of the password typing for all connections but the first one.

Configurer SSH pour un tunnel automatique

Hop Simple

Un tunnel automatique vous autorisera &agraev; rediriger les connections vers les machines &agraev; l'intérieur du CERN dans un tunnel, sans aucune intervention de votre part. Disons que vous souhaitez accéder &agraev; votre ordinateur au CERN appelé “CernDesktop” depuis chez vous. Supposez aussi que votre nom d'utilisateur CERN (compte sur LXPLUS) est “CernUsername”. Pour définir le tunnel automatique, ajoutez simplement les lignes suivantes dans votre fichier .ssh/config sur votre ordinateur de la maison (utilisant Linux):

Host lxplus.cern.ch
  user CernUsername

Cela ordonne &agraev; SSH de toujours se connecter en tant que “cernusername” lors de la connexion &agraev; LXPLUS, si aucun utilisateur n'est spécifié. Ensuite, ajoutez les lignes suivantes dans le même fichier:

Host CernDesktop.cern.ch
  ProxyCommand ssh lxplus.cern.ch /usr/bin/nc %h %p 2> /dev/null
  GSSAPITrustDNS no

La première ligne dit &agraev; SSH que “cerndesktop.cern.ch” doit être atteint en executant la commande donnée. Maintenant ssh cerndesktop.cern.ch marchera comme un charme.

Ainsi, SSH se connecte à LXPLUS et transfère la connexion &agraev; “cerndesktop”. La seconde ligne s'occupe des problè de DNS avec les clusters. Vous en avez seulement besoin si vous utilisez un cluster comme LXPLUS. Veuillez noter que la chaîne de caractères après Host peut contenir plusieurs noms, séparés par des espaces, et peut aussi contenir des jokers. Par exemple lxvo*.cern.ch lxbuild*.cern.ch. Cependant, n'utiliser surtout pas *.cern.ch, cela créerait une boucle infinie!

Hops Multiples

La méthode est récursive, et donc extrêmement puissante quand vous avez besoin de passer par plusieurs machines. Ainsi pour le chemin: “Home → LXPLUS → ProxyToHiddenNet → CriticalMachine”, le fichier .ssh/config suivant sur votre ordinateur &agraev; la maison vous permettra de vous connecter directement sur “CriticalMachine”:

Host criticalmachine
  ProxyCommand ssh ProxyToHiddenNet /usr/bin/nc %h %p 2> /dev/null
Host ProxyToHiddenNet
  user LocalUsernameOnProxy
  ProxyCommand ssh lxplus.cern.ch /usr/bin/nc %h %p 2> /dev/null
  GSSAPITrustDNS no
Host lxplus.cern.ch
  user CernUsername

Optimiser le nombre de connections et l'utilisations des mots de passe

Après avoir configuré des tunnels automatiques, vous avez peut-être noté qu'un tunnel est ouvert par connexion, et que votre mot de passe est demandé à chaque hop (donc 3 fois pour l'exemple précédent). Ceci peut être optimisé en utilisant les options ControlPath et ControlMaster dans le fichier .ssh/config. Pour cela, ajoutez la section suivante:

Host *.cern.ch
  ControlPath ~/.ssh/%h.%p.%r
  ControlMaster auto

Tous vos tunnels vers des machines “*.cern.ch” seront partagés. Vous réduisez le nombre de connexions et évitez de taper votre mot de passe pour toutes les connexions, sauf pour la première.