CERN Computer Security Recommendations

At CERN, due to its unique academic environment and the associated academic freedom, computer security has been delegated to CERN's users:

At CERN, you are responsibile for securing your PCs, data, systems & services.

However, being responsible and being capable of assuming responsibility are two completely different issues. Even if you are bound to follow the Computing Rules, you might lack knowledge, means and expertise to do so. Therefore, this page puts all relevant information at your disposal. If this is not sufficient, you might want to join one of our training courses or take advantage of our services.

For All Users (Experts or Not)

Some security issues can be sophisticated and tricky, but larger fraction of the standard problems are rather basic and simple. On the sidebar, users, beginners, experts - everyone - can find basic and simple tips & tricks on how to use your computer securely. Usually, it takes just a bit of awareness and alertness to protect yourself against the most frequent security threats...

For Software Developers

Writing software is not always as easy as it seems. CERN users are quite creative and the academic freedom allows you to chose the way you want to program. However, security events in the past have shown that, while the functionality has properly been implemented, security measures lack completely. Thus, if you feel your code needs improvement in this respect, on the sidebar, you'll find all the necessary help, advise and tools you need.

For System Owners

Being owner of a system or service increases the scope of responsibility, in particular with view on availability and security. Both go hand-in-hand, and a security event can have large (negative) impact on a system or service (How long does it take you to reinstall your system/service?). The topics on the sidebar are providing you check-lists for verifying the security of your systems and services.

Recommandations sur la sécurité informatique au CERN

Dû à l’environnement académique unique du CERN et à la liberté académique qui lui est associée, la sécurité informatique a été déléguée aux utilisateurs du CERN:

Au CERN, vous êtes responsables de la sécurité de vos PCs, données, systèmes & services.

Cependant, être responsable et être capable d'assumer cette responsabilité sont deux choses complètement différentes. Même si vous vous êtes engagé à suivre les règles informatiques, vous pouvez manquer de connaissances, de moyens et d’expertise. Par conséquent, cette page met toutes les informations utiles à votre disposition. Si cela devait ne pas vous suffire, vous pouvez vous inscrire à l’un de nos cours de formation ou profitez de nos services.

Pour tous les utilisateurs (experts ou non)

Certains problèmes de sécurité peuvent être sophistiqués et délicats, mais la plupart des problèmes standards sont basiques et simples. Sur le menu de gauche, les utilisateurs, débutants, experts – tout le monde – peuvent trouver des conseils & astuces basiques et simples sur comment utiliser leur ordinateur de manière sure. Généralement, se protéger contre les menaces de sécurité les plus fréquentes demande juste un peu de sensibilisation et de vigilance...

Pour les développeurs

Ecrire des logiciels n’est pas toujours aussi simple que cela peut paraitre. Les utilisateurs du CERN sont assez créatifs et la liberté académique vous permet de choisir la manière dont vous voulez programmer. Cependant, les incidents de sécurité passés ont montré que, alors que la fonctionnalité a été très bien implémentée, les mesures de sécurité manquaient complètement. Ainsi, si vous pensez que votre code a besoin d’améliorations relatives à la sécurité, vous trouverez sur le menu de gauche l’aide, les conseils et les outils nécessaires dont vous avez besoin.

Pour les propriétaires de systèmes

Etre le propriétaire d’un système ou service augmente la part de responsabilité, en particulier du point de vue de la disponibilité et de la sécurité. Les deux vont de pair, et un incident de sécurité peut avoir un impact (négatif) important sur un système ou service (Combien de temps cela vous prend pour réinstaller votre système/service ?). Dans le menu de gauche, vous trouverez des checklists afin de vérifier la sécurité de vos systèmes et services.